This document sets out our policy for responding to requests for deletion of data under data protection law. This document explains the rights of the data subject in relation to data deletion and the responsibilities of Emarket.lk in responding with such a request.
An individual has the right to erasure, also known as ‘the right to be forgotten’. The principle underpinning this right is to enable an individual to request the deletion or removal of personal data where there is no compelling reason for its continued processing.
As stipulated in data protection law, individuals have a right to have personal data erased and to prevent processing in specific circumstances:
If consent is provided, personal data may be stored in our CRM system for the purposes of contacting you regarding Emarket.lk Ads, news, products and promotions.
If you have purchased a subscription on Emarket.lk, Emarket.lk acts as data controller. In this case, we will delete the user account upon request (via email to [email protected]emarket.lk ), upon closure of your account, or after three years. If an organization purchases access to Emarket.lk, Emarket.lk acts as the data processor and the customer acts as data controller. In this case, it is the responsibility of the customer, as data controller, to ensure that data is not held longer than necessary for the purposes for which it is intended.
A user of the Emarket.lk Account, acting on behalf of their organization, can delete data from their account whenever they wish. This data is deleted from the system immediately and cannot be recovered by any users or Emarket.lk employees after this point. Data which has been deleted or otherwise destroyed can not be recovered at any time. Sufficient warning is given to the account administrator before data is permanently deleted.
Data may still remain in the systems back-up files, which will be deleted periodically.
Information may be deleted from our CRM upon request to [email protected]emarket.lk. We undertake to perform the deletion within one month (30 calendar days) and will send you a confirmation once the information has been deleted. Wherever possible, we will aim to complete the request in advance of the deadline.